Love Mount Rainier? Enter National Park Service Historical Landmark Photo Contest

Washington state boasts 24 of the just over 2,500 places, objects or districts that are designated as National Historic Landmarks.

Calling all Enumclaw shutterbugs!

The National Park Service on April 1 launched its 14th annual National Historic Landmark Photo Contest. Grab your camera and share the loveliness of majestic Mount Rainier right in your backyard.

“National historic landmarks demonstrate the diverse history that can be seen all across this great nation,” said National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis. “Wherever you may be, in a city or in the countryside, in a historic neighborhood or at the seashore, you are likely to encounter a landmark to photograph and share in the contest.”

There are over 2,500 national historic landmarks across the country from which to choose -- 24 are in Washington state if you'd prefer to visit another destination (click here to view the full PDF list). They include The Adventuress Schooner in Seattle, the American and English camps on San Juan Island, the Fort Nisqually Granary in Tacoma and the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard in Bremerton.

Nationally, historic landmarks cover an array of sites from the notable to the notorious. From Harriett Beecher Stowe’s House in Hartford, Connecticut to Alcatraz Prison in San Francisco Bay, from the Ford River Rouge Complex in Dearborn, Michigan to the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma, Alabama, national historic landmarks capture the diversity of the American story.

What will catch your eye and spark your imagination?  This year’s challenge theme is “My Observation.”  Let us know what you thought or describe what you saw on your visit.  Enter one photo per national historic landmark and up to 10 photo entries per photographer.

The contest is open through July 9 at midnight EDT.  For additional information and complete contest rules, visit the 2013 NHL Photo Contest page:   http://www.nps.gov/history/nhl/2013photocontest/

About National Historic Landmarks

National historic landmarks are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States.  A National Historic Landmark may be a historic building, site, structure, object, or district.  Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program of the National Park Service (NPS) draws upon the expertise of NPS staff to identify and nominate new landmarks and to provide technical assistance to existing landmarks.

 For more information about the National Historic Landmarks Program, visit  http://www.nps.gov/history/nhl/


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »